Geo's Cord Grip Cleaning Trick - Lots of pics

geogolf

www.theclubcollector.com
I have been Doing this for about 15 years. Cord grips typically look like crap when old and dirty. The dirt gets in the cord, and even more slippery...mixed with the oils from your hands- many people just cut the grip off and junk it.

Not so fast.

Now..if you are a bachelor--- no biggie. married guys, Unless you have a workshop--this may be cause for divorce, things can get dirty in the sink.

Here's all you need.

A sink - - with hot water :)
Soft Brush - an Old tooth brush is perfect
Dawn Dishwashing Liquid.
Spray Bottle...with a mix of 1 part Bleach to about 5/6 parts water. Depending on how bad the grip is.

Our Example here- an Original grip from an Inspired by David Duval. Approx 15 years old.

1) Soak Grip With Hot Water.

2) Spray Grip with Bleach/Water Mix

3) put a line of dawn Dishwashing liquid on grip...let set-over sink,for about 5 min.

4) With hot water running-run brush under water...use brush on the full length of grip- rinsing the grip often.

5) You should see a bunch of gunk coming off by now.... If VERY dirty- add a spray of Bleach mix

6) Keep using brush on grip and rinsing brush until there is less and less dirt coming off

7) Rinse entire grip in hot water.

8) Wrap In paper towel...2 or 3 and squeeze tight. This will absorb the water from the Cord....

9) Whallllllllaaaaaaaa a fresh looking grip. ........

8) 8) 8)

Attachments

T. J.

PUTTERS!? We no need no,,, wait,,, si , we do !!
Staff member
THANKS!!!!!!!!! Going to try it on a 1 year old grip, will post pics,,,,,

Jimbobuc21

If my GIR was higher, my scores would be lower.