Author Topic: Worked with Bruce last week!  (Read 822 times)

Clemsonfan

Worked with Bruce last week!
« on: September 05, 2017, 06:01:05 AM »
And can affirm that as great as he is online, he is even better in person!  I was fortunate to be in Indianapolis, and asked if we could schedule time at The Fort Golf Resort. I have been an online student since inception and like so many others, Bruce has helped me tremendously over the years.

Since October, my putting has been pretty poor and I developed a flippy right hand. I have shared a few videos with Bruce recently and he has made a few suggestions based on the videos.  Still, my performance was spotty, and I struggled to make anything because I couldn't get the ball to the hole.  Trust me, after suffering with the right hand slam, it is tough to make the ball get to the hole.

In two strokes, Bruce quickly showed me how my stroke differed from my videos, where I made many of my putts, and how I needed to fix it to improve.  He noted how this stroke was a different shape and showed me what I should be doing with his V-Plane Tracer (a great tool, by the way).  It was simple and the lesson could have ended there but we headed to the practice green where we tested the stroke over a variety of distances, slopes and breaks.  Once Bruce showed me the solution, I only recall hitting quality putts on the practice green. 

Since the lesson, I have only had the opportunity to play 9 holes and shot 37 with two birdies in league play-my lowest in a few months.  Most nights, I have only had time to practice with the V-Plane Tracer indoors.

As much as the lesson, I enjoyed our discussion afterwards.   It was a real pleasure to see the original Byron Blades - I imagined they would be in cases lined with crushed black velvet, and for Bruce to show me how the different putter designs were supposed to be used. He showed me an 8802 style putter he often uses because of some customers and we took his Rock Pile to the green.