Author Topic: Yips - Yikes!  (Read 1052 times)

Clemsonfan

Yips - Yikes!
« on: October 16, 2016, 12:03:58 PM »
I have been using a Sizemore Gene Nead Handmade for more than 5 years - 67* lie, 4* loft and 34.5" long.  For the past few years I have used a Superstroke 2.0 Mid with good results for my 5.5-7.2 handicap game.  Except for Thursday Night leagues, I haven't played much but I have been playing well with a low six-round average of 37.2 strokes for a few weeks.

About 5 weeks ago I noticed how far right (closed) my putter grip had become and decided to replace it.  Rather than go back to my trusty Superstroke, I replaced it with a Rosemark Thorn 1.25.  I loved the feel, and putted great in practice.  In my next 27 holes, I had 10 3-putts or more!  I removed the Rosemark, and used the Superstroke Mid 2.0 again, but I now have the yips.  I missed 4 putts inside 3' feet in a two-man best ball tournament on Friday. 

I putt great in practice, really better than I have ever done.  Putting for score is a different matter. 

I searched old threads and saw two primary causes - choking, and using the wrong putter for your stroke.  I can't believe it is the later since I have used this putter for years. 

If it is choking, what would cause me to start?

Thanks,
Jeff

bargolf

• barusga
    • BURNT EDGES CONSULTING
Re: Yips - Yikes!
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2016, 01:24:11 PM »
Jeff.

You also have consider going from a grip closed to one that is square. had to change how you release the putter.

Bruce
Byron Morgan Bombora In-Between Long Pipe
Byron Morgan DaKine Long Pipe
Staff Professional Burnt Edges Consulting
SLDR TP 9.5 TP
SLDR 3 14 degree TP
SLDR TP Hybrids 17 and 21
Nike VR Pro Blades 4-9 KBS Tour S
Clay Long Desig TM 50 and 56

Clemsonfan

« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2016, 03:12:24 PM »
Jeff.

You also have consider going from a grip closed to one that is square. had to change how you release the putter.

Bruce